DECEMBER 3: SMALL VICTORIES

MOLETE, IBADAN

I had decisions to make and options to consider, but my mind, as it is wont to do, went into a semi-freeze. Writing is usually the way to go when this happens, but I’d been in a writing funk for a while (a while being months, and funk being an inability to write the things I want to for fear that they’ll come out as rubbish). So I turned to one of life’s greatest pleasures: reading.

I picked up Anne Lamott’s Small Victories and page after page, anecdote after anecdote, Anne helped me put my situation into perspective. She wasn’t writing about me or anything close to me—I don’t have friends faced with life-threatening diseases and I’m not suffering from the loss of love of any kind. But as I read about the strength and grace her friends showed in dire situations and her own struggle in her spiritual walk, I saw myself in different light.

There are times when I come across great writing and feel like my quality of life has improved. I feel like Super Mario when he eats a mushroom, or Popeye after a can of spinach, or a bricklayer after a meal of bread and beans. Anne is one of the writers who do this to me. She’s on the same level with CS Lewis and Philip Yancey in this regard, and just above Timi Yeseibo (this is because Timi has refused to write a book—for now 🙂 ). These people have my literary mumu-button, they make me say “Yes, that’s exactly how I feel.” I believe good writing should make us better, and these four people do just that in their personal narratives.

After the fourth chapter of the book, I paused, picked my journal and wrote my first complete story in days. This was not a small victory—it was a big, fat, gigantic victory.

6 thoughts on “DECEMBER 3: SMALL VICTORIES

    1. Lol, I only understood the subtle irony in this comment after visiting your blog. Thanks for reading and commenting though. I’m still laughing at your “bad christian, no wafer for you.”

  1. Two things:
    1) I am so nodding agama-agama at your “mumu-button” expression. And yikes! I have folks to queue up behind. Mine just seems way longer than the list you populated.

    2) Took me no time to figure how easy it is for the tardy-reading, long-story-averse, short-attention-span me to grub your four posts in a flit. And with gusto. It’s the brevity.
    Perhaps you should do this more often (Yeah, I know. That reeks of self-centredness) *Mutes self*

    1. Bunmi, my muse and I are just sizing ourselves up for now, trying to be friends enough to engage on longform writing again. Then we’ll ditch this short stuff and I hope you’ll be back to read even when that happens.

  2. Everyone wants to know why I’m smiling- I said my name was mentioned alongside some great writers 😉

    Having you read something I wrote and be inspired is so satisfying on so many levels. And your renaissance, inspired by Anne Lamott, is beautiful to read. And I’m not biased because you mentioned my name; these new pieces have something more in them that the others didn’t. Perhaps a hiatus, funk as you call it, was what you needed.

    I salute your victory. Welcome back!

    1. Clearly, I’m doing this wrong. You’re supposed to read that part, and think, so that boy thinks I’m not as good as Anne because I’ve not written a book, and then finally send that book to the printers. Instead, you smile. Tactics have to be changed.

      I hope I don’t always need a hiatus to do this, but beggars can’t be choosers I guess. Thank you for the kind words and support while the ‘funk’ lasted.

      Now about that book…

Comment

