March 20: Platform

You need a platform. No, I don’t mean platform shoes. You’re a 6ft tall man; what will you ever need that for?

By platform I mean something closer in meaning to that elevated place in your local church, covered in red carpet, where the pastor preaches. But remember: you’re not a pastor, and there’s no place for preaching here.

The platform you need is also called an outfit. This does not mean you do not have outfits. Your oversized shirts, Ankara tops and chinos trousers count for something. This outfit is not concerned with covering your nakedness. As a matter of fact, it will be used in opening your naked self to the world.

By now you should realise these are all metaphors. Clichéd? Yes. But wetin man go do?

See, you need this platform, these outfits, so your voice can be heard. You also need them so you won’t stare into space and make faces when important people walk up to you, shake your hand and ask, “What platform do you write for?”

And no, that obscure blog of yours doesn’t count. “Blogging is not writing. It is graffiti with punctuation.”*

Wow. Really?!

*Quote from the 2011 movie, Contagion.

8 thoughts on “March 20: Platform

    1. The tone of the speaker in the movie was condescending and dismissive, but the statement contains truth. The best I can hope for as someone who blogs is to be able to make people stop, turn their heads, and spend a moment in contemplation of what is before them. That is no better than the best of graffitis.

      As for blogging not being writing, perhaps we should ask: what is writing?

  1. I kinda prefer to be called a blogger than a writer. I can’t say I write often and I only make sure I keep date with my Tuesday appointment in blogosphere. Are you fully back to this platform now?

    1. Yes I am Ife. I wasn’t really gone before, was just super busy and had little access to good internet service. Even now, I can barely post comments without pulling at my afro.

  2. Yawns are not the only infectious things out there that spreads. Giggles can spread from person to person.
    So can blushing. But maybe the most powerful infectious thing is the act using what you have to add value whichever way you can. If it’s writing, then ‘just write am’.

    1. Yes, adding value is infectious, and one should just do it. But I guess what people who ask us to find platforms suggest is that our best efforts are wasted in obscurity. And there’s a chance they are right. Don’t you think so?

      Thanks Emeka, for commenting.

    1. I’m not sure the inference works like that jare Bunmi. The man was implying that blogging is the business of folks who are not real writers, so that nullifies your attempt at self-depreciation.

      And who says blogging has to be writing? Some of the best blogs I follow are about curation. For me, the take away was that blogging is graffiti with punctuation. I just like the sound of that.

Comment

